Interview with 2020 NHL Draft Eligible Oliver Suni

GU:  How would you rate your first season in the OHL from 1-10 and why?

OS: I would give myself a 7.  I started off very well, but the injury I had in the start of December was unfortunate and took me out for 2 months.

GU: What was the biggest challenge for you in moving from Finland to Oshawa to join the OHL?

OS: I would say just getting used to new culture and environmemt which was easy for me so there wasn’t really anything challenging.

GU: Did you know that you were going to be selected by Oshawa in the import draft or were there other teams that you were talking to as well?

OS: My agent told me there are a couple teams I might go and in the morning during the draft day he told me I am going to Oshawa.

GU: How often are you talking with NHL teams for the 2020 NHL Draft during the quarantine or does that mostly go through your agent?

OS: I have been talking to teams quite a lot. I have had some video meetings and some emails and stuff like that.

GU: Who is the most skilled teammate you’ve ever played with in your life?

OS: Phil Tomasino.

GU: Next year the Gens are favoured to be one of the top teams in the OHL, have you ever played on a team with such high expectations?

OS: I have played on teams with high expectations but never as big as winning the OHL and Memorial Cup.

GU: If you could form your all-time dream line, who would be the 2 other forwards on that line with you?

OS: Evgeny Malkin and Teemu Selänne.

GU: You were recently named to the Finland World Junior tryout camp. What would it mean to you to make Team Finland for the World Juniors next December?

OS: It would be a huge honour to represent my country there and a dream come true for sure.

GU: Who is the funniest teammate you had on the Gens last season?

OS: Aidan Hughes.

Screen Shot 2020-07-12 at 12.12.23 PM.png

(Suni and Hughes from Gens training camp last season. Image from GoodallMedia)

GU: What are your favourite OHL road arenas to play in and why?

OS: I liked to play London and Mississauga. London because the crowd is great there and Mississauga because I scored my first goal there and I always felt great playing there.

Screen Shot 2020-07-12 at 12.15.55 PM.pngEditor’s Note: Suni had 7 points in 3 games against Mississauga last season. Image from GoodallMedia

Leave a comment